The City of Wilmer offices will be closed in observance of the following holidays.  

 

  • New Year’s Day
  • Martin Luther King Day
  • Good Friday
  • Labor Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Thanksgiving Day and the day after
  • Christmas Eve and Christmas Day

 

Mission Statement

To impartially administer justice in a fair and efficient manner.

Goals

To provide a courteous staff to assist the public.

Strive for equality, fairness and integrity.

Ensure independence and accountability. 



Contact Info:


City of Wilmer
Municipal Court

219 E Belt Line Rd
Wilmer, TX 75172

Telephone:
972-441-6372
Se habla español

If you have an emergency, please always call 9-1-1.


Appearance Plea Docket 12-18-18
Show Cause 12-18-18
TBC Docket 12-19-18
Pre-Trial Hearing 12-19-18
Show Cause 01-02-19



Monthly OCA Report

Help for Self- Represented Litigants
Driver Responsibility Program

Hours:


Monday – Friday
7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Closed daily for lunch: 12:00 -1:00 p.m.

Municipal Court

Juveniles under 17 years of age must appear in person
with a parent, guardian or proof of marriage.

Payment Methods


Money order or cashier’s check payable to the City of Wilmer, no personal checks accepted. You may pay your citation in full at http://www.trafficpayment.com/ or call 1 -800-444-1187.

Please note the phone and online payment fees: the fee is $3.95 for fines up to $60 and a flat 6.5% on all transactions above $60.

For all walk-in payments taken at the window, in the clerk's office, 3.5% with a $0.95 minimum.
This translates to a flat fee of $0.95 for payments up to approx. $27, and then it switches to a flat 3.5% on all transactions above that amount

A drop box is located at the Wilmer Municipal Court office to receive after hour payments. Cash payments are not accepted. Write the citation number on your cashier’s check or money order.

Deferred Disposition – Traffic Offenses Only


Deferred Disposition is authorized in Article 45.051 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. Deferred disposition is a method of having your traffic citation dismissed after satisfactory completion of a probationary period in which no additional convictions are received and all requirements imposed in the Deferral Agreement are satisfied.

Eligibility Requirements for Deferred Disposition

  • You must request Deferred Disposition on or before the appearance date on your citation.
  • You must not be currently on a Deferred Disposition.
  • You must waive your right to a jury trial.
  • You must enter a plea of guilty or no contest.
  • You must not receive another moving violation offense in the State of Texas within the deferral period (90 days).
  • You must pay all amounts due as ordered or scheduled.
  • If you are younger than 25 years of age you are required to complete a driving safety course approved under Chapter 1001, Education Code.

You are NOT eligible for Deferred Disposition if:

  • You were charged with speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit.
  • You are charged with a violation in a construction or maintenance work zone when workers are present.
  • You hold a Commercial Driver’s License or held one at the time you were cited for the offense.
  • You were charged with passing a stopped school bus.
  • You were charged with leaving a scene of an accident.

How to submit your Deferred Disposition Request by mail:

  1. Enter a plea of guilty or no contest on your mail appearance form.
  2. Enclose payment in the amount of your fine plus an additional $20.00 made payable to the City of Wilmer.
  3. Enclose a copy of your driver’s license.
  4. Your request must be postmarked no later than your appearance date, if mailed late or failure to do one of the above mentioned requirements will void your request.

* If you request deferred disposition by mail, (if granted) you will receive a deferred order from the judge.



Driving Safety or Motorcycle Operator Training Course to satisfy one violation

  • You have a valid Texas driver's license.
  • You have current proof of Texas liability insurance.
  • You have not taken a defensive driving class within the last twelve (12) months preceding the offense. (The 12 month period begins with completion of the course, and ends on the date of the current citation.).
  • You are not currently taking the course for another traffic violation.
  • You request a driving safety course on or before your appearance date.

You are NOT eligible for Defensive Driving if:

  • You were charged with speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit.
  • You are charged with a violation in a construction or maintenance work zone when workers are present.
  • You hold a Commercial Driver’s License or held one at the time you were cited for the offense.
  • You were charged with passing a stopped school bus.
  • You were charged with leaving a scene of an accident.

How to submit your Defensive Driving request by mail:

  1. Enter a plea of guilty or no contest.
  2. Enclose payment in the amount of $109.10 made payable to the City of Wilmer (if your offense occurred in a school zone you must add an additionall $25.00).
  3. Enclose a copy of your insurance card.
  4. Sign the request in front of a notary.
  5. Mail the notarized request form, copy of insurance card and your money order to the court before your appearance date. Your request must be postmarked no later than your appearance date, if mailed late or failure to do one of the above mentioned requirements will void your request.
Request your type 3 A driver record online at http://www.texas.gov/


Contest Your Citation

 

Trial Request:
If you would like to plead not guilty and request a trial before a judge or jury, you may do so on or before your appearance date. To do this, you must complete the appropriate section of your citation or complete the request for trial form.


Pre-Trial Hearing:

If a trial is requested, the defendant will be scheduled for a mandatory Pre-Trial Hearing. The purpose of the Pre-Trial Hearing is for the city prosecutor and the defendant to have an opportunity to discuss available options to resolve the case. If the case is still unresolved after the Pre-Trial Hearing, it will be placed on a court docket for trial.


Alternative Payment Options

If you are financially unable to pay a fine and/or court costs in full (one payment), there are other options, such as time-payment plans and community service hours instead of paying the fine and court costs. You must appear in person during business hours to apply for a time payment plan, extension or community service. All options must be approved by the judge. Applications received by mail will not be accepted. Complete the application and bring it to the Wilmer Municipal Court 219 Beltline Rd Wilmer, TX 75172. A mandatory state fee of $25 will be added if any part of the fine is paid on or after the 31st day a judgment has been entered.

In certain situations in which a person cannot perform community service and is also Indigent and unable to pay out their fine and court costs on a time payment plan the Court will hear evidence about your financial situation to help resolve this matter and may even reduce the fine and court costs or eliminate them completely, depending on the severity of your financial situation.

Application for Time Payment Plan, Extension, or Community Service

Consequences of you fail to appear in Court

Issuance of Criminal Warrants for your Arrest and “Wanted” Status Reported to Law Enforcement Agencies; the filing of additional criminal charges such as Failure to Appear; “a hold being placed on renewal of your Driver’s License; and you will be subject to immediate arrest if law enforcement officials stop you on the street, in any public place, or at your place of employment or your residence.

Compliance Dismissals with Proof


Insurance:

If you have insurance, you must present a valid insurance card or policy which was in effect on the date and time of your offense. Upon verification of insurance coverage, your citation will be presented to the Judge for review and a decision will be made about dismissal. The insurance agency will be contacted by telephone to verify coverage. You may provide proof of insurance by mail or in person before your appearance date.

Fail to Report Change of Address:

You may request that the citation be dismissed if the violation is corrected within twenty working days of the issuance. To request a dismissal, you must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest, provide the court with a receipt, and pay the required $20.00 fee before your appearance date.

Expired Registration:

You may request that the citation be dismissed if the violation is corrected within twenty working days of the issuance. To request a dismissal, you must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest, provide the court with a receipt, and pay the required $20.00 fee before your appearance date.

Defective Equipment:

You may request that the citation be dismissed if the violation is corrected within twenty working days of the issuance. To request a dismissal, you must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest, provide the court with a receipt, and pay the required $10.00 fee before your appearance date.

Warrants:                                        

For information on active warrants, contact Bonnie Tennison at 972-441-6565.

THIS COURT OFFERS YOU A “SAFE HARBOR” TO TURN YOURSELF IN ON CLASS C WARRANTS ISSUED BY THIS COURT

Before the passage of Senate Bill 1913,in order to promote justice, ensure due process and the equal treatment of all persons, some of whom may be indigent or facing financial hardships, and to help clear outstanding arrest warrants and capiases, this court instituted a policy that it will not arrest or jail any person who voluntarily surrenders themselves to this court on warrants issued by our court, if you make a good-faith effort to resolve the case before you are arrested and the warrant is executed. In other words, if you have active Class C misdemeanor warrants issued by this court and you voluntarily come in to court.

YOU WILL NOT BE ARRESTED, THE WARRANT(S) WILL BE RECALLED, AND YOU WILL BE GIVEN A COURT DATE TO SPEAK TO THE JUDGE ABOUT YOUR CASE, WITHOUT FEAR OF BEING ARRESTED.